Sometimes, you may wish to take a break from the regular hustle and bustle of the daily life, and for the same, some of you may opt to delete your online presence, including your Gmail account.
Like any other account, you can delete your Google Account at will. There are a couple of options on offer while deleting the account, but if you permanently delete your account, you might not be able to recover it.
On deleting the account, be ready to lose all your data that was earlier saved on your account and it will include emails, attached documents, photos, calendars, and all other files. Furthermore, you won’t be able to sign-in to Google services like Drive, Music, Play, Games, and Calendar with the deleted Gmail account email id. It will also cut-off your all the subscription that you might have bought through that account. Apart from all this, saved information on the Chrome will also be lost.
Review & Download Your Info
But, before jumping in, do remember to download all the related information and files on a safe backup device. At first, review all the information which you want to save and then look into services like banking, apps or social media which are related to your Gmail account. Create a new email id to replace the older one.
Delete Your Google Account
Once you have made up your mind to delete the Gmail account, follow these steps to get going:
- Go to Google Account option located in the Google Apps.
- Then go to Account preferences.
- There you will find “Delete your account or services.”
- You can choose between “Delete products” and “Delete Google Account and Data.” (The latter option will wipe out your Gmail account completely, from Google docs to search history, everything).
- Google will ask you to select the account you want to delete.
- Enter the email id and password to proceed further.
- The next page will display three options; one as “Please read this carefully,” other as “Download your data,” and the third one as “List of content that will be deleted.”
- On following the “Download your data’ option, you will be redirected to another page that will display a list of all the services and information related to your content.
- The third option will give you a list of all the data that will be deleted.
- At the end of the page, there will be two options to select from. One for pending financial transactions and other to permanently delete the Google Account.
- Gmail will require an alternative email address to complete the process. It may be the one that you may have added while creating your account or you can add a new one.
- Click on “Send Verification Email.”
- Follow the mail instruction that you will receive on your alternative email address, and your Gmail account will vanish in no time.
Recover The Deleted Google Account
In case you change your mind later and wants to bring back your old Gmail account back to life, you may be able to get it back. But if you try to revive it after a while or so, you may get disappointed. And if you are the lucky one, you will regain access to your Gmail, Google Play, Calendar and other Google services.
To make it happen, you will be required to answer a few questions, if answered up to the mark, say cheese and relish.
You may also like:
How To Use Gmail Without Internet?
How To Update Your Android Game With Latest API Level
How To Delete Android Apps On Your Device
How To Take Screenshots On Different Android Smartphones
How To Install Kodi On Your Chromebook