Facebook Unblocks People From Its 800,000 Users Blocked List
MobileAppDaily

Facebook Accidentally Unblocks People From Its 800,000 Users Blocked List

The social media giant lands in another trouble.

Social Media published date 3rd July, 2018 Vikram Khajuria

Facebook Unblocked users

In yet another accident, Facebook has found itself on the lost ground. After getting into a couple of controversies, the online social media and social networking company has embroiled in another turmoil.

Facebook is informing its 800,000 users about a bug that caused the company system to unblock some of the blocked people. This led blocked people to see the profile of the users’ again and contact them by sending a friend request or a message. The bug wreaked havoc on both the Facebook web page and Messenger app.

“Starting today, we are notifying over 800,000 users about a bug in Facebook and Messenger that unblocked some people they had blocked. The bug was active between May 29 and June 5 — and while someone who was unblocked could not see content shared with friends, they could have seen things posted to a wider audience, “ Erin Egan, Chief Privacy Officer, Facebook, disclosed the bug in a published blog post. “For example pictures shared with friends of friends. We know that the ability to block someone is important — and we’d like to apologize and explain what happened.”

Read: Facebook Comes Up With Keyword Snooze Feature To Avoid Spoilers

The bug may have caused one of the following problems in the users' account:

  • It did not reinstate any friend connections that had been severed;
  • 83% of people affected had only one person they had blocked temporarily; and
  • Someone who was unblocked might have been able to contact people on Messenger.

This mess has attracted a lot of criticism from the users and industry experts because Facebook has already been condemned for its role in the Cambridge Analytica scandal. The later investigation revealed the misuse of personal data of millions of users. In the damage control mode, Facebook promised to send a message to all the affected users.

The block feature in the Facebook lets you stay away from people who you don’t want to connect or don’t want them to connect to you. Once enabled, the feature will shun the user and he/she will no longer be able to do things such as tag you or see things you post on your timeline.
 

Vikram Khajuria

Vikram Khajuria

A typical boy and tech enthusiast, Vikram is totally fascinated by the journey of his day from miseries to joys. Covering the journalism field, he writes at MobileAppDaily and keeps surfing the trends to understand tech and inventions better. Don’t forget his driving skills, he is a professional car rallyist. Life has just got better, breath it!!

Was this article helpful?

Show Comments
0