WhatsApp Finally Gives You The Power to Recall Messages You’ve Sent by Mi
MobileAppDaily

WhatsApp Finally Gives You The Power to Recall Messages You've Sent by Mistake

WhatsApp brings its 1 billion-plus users the power to recall and delete mis-messages

Innovation published date 8th November, 2017 James Lawson

Whatsapp New Update

We all are well-acquainted with the embarrassment brought to us by typos and heat of moment rants sent to our mum or worse boss and how we begged God to undo those words. Looks like he or rather WhatsApp heard us and is finally to our rescue with its latest recall messages feature.

The much-anticipated feature by the Facebook-owned messaging app will finally let its 1 billion-plus users recall and delete a message for all people within a conversation.

Related :  Snapchat

As of the now, delete feature of WhatsApp is fairly useless as it only removes a message for the user who sent it which doesn’t change the fact that the intended receiver can still read the message. But with the latest update,  the new option of “delete for everyone,” rids the message from the chat for all. Instead, the deleted conversation is replaced by a notification explaining the message has been removed.

Related :  Google Integrated Its Duo App As Video Call Android App

 

The feature is still rolling out, as some have and others don’t. More details can be found on the company’s FAQ page:

To delete messages for everyone

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.

Related :  Google has a Pawesome New Update for Google Photos and It's for Your Dog

In order to avail this life-saving feature, all participants in the conversation must have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on their device. Though that’s a pretty big glitch at the moment, however, with time as more and more users update their messaging App, the option to undo those embarrassing unintended messages will feature in more and more conversations. One can hardly disagree that this feature by WhatsApp was long overdue.

For the Latest Mobile App Technology News and Reviews, follow MobileAppDaily on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram and Flipboard

James Lawson

James Lawson

James is a writer and editor at MobileAppDaily and he is famous as a tech journalist at MobileAppDaily. He focuses on the mobile app startups & ventures and brings them to the light. He has started his career as a tech writer 6 years ago just after completing his degree in Broadcast and Digital Journalism.

Was this article helpful?

Show Comments
0